Sustainability alumnus earns public service award

Braden KayThe Center for the Future of Arizona recently announced four outstanding recipients of its 2019 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Award. Non-elected public servants honored this year are: City of Tempe Sustainability Director Braden Kay, an Arizona State University School of Sustainability alumnus; Deputy County Attorney and Northwest Bureau Chief for the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office Gina Godbehere; City of Phoenix Director of Aviation James (Jim) Bennett; and Yuma County Juvenile Justice Center Director Tim Hardy. Kay received the Emerging Leader Award, which recognizes early-stage public servants committed to improving civic health and community connections for their constituents. These leaders bring innovation, energy and compassion to their organizations while serving as role models for others seeking to build their careers in Arizona. Kay is the sustainability director at the City of Tempe working with city departments on reaching sustainability targets in energy, transportation, waste, water, land use, local food, housing, social issues, and resilience. Braden is working on Tempe’s first Climate Action Plan and he has brought more than $400,000 worth of research grants and resources to the City of Tempe. On January 8, 2011, Gabe Zimmerman — Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords’ community outreach director — gave his life while serving the citizens of Arizona. In honor of his memory, CFA presents special awards each year to non-elected public servants to recognize their contributions to Arizona communities. “Public servants work for the common good and demonstrate a true spirit of service to fellow Arizonans,” said the President and CEO of the Center for the Future of Arizona, Sybil Francis. “We celebrate the achievements of this year’s recipients who carry on the legacy of Gabe Zimmerman through their outstanding leadership and commitment to improving civic health in communities throughout our state.”