Sustainability stand-outs to be honored at annual awards dinner

founders-day-awards-sustainabilityThis year, the annual Founder's Day Awards Dinner - taking place at the Arizona Biltmore on March 5 - will recognize alumni, faculty and supporters who have made game-changing contributions to the field of sustainability. Among the awardees are School of Sustainability graduate Ryan Delaney; School of Sustainability faculty Christopher Wharton and Hallie Eakin; sustainability scientists Jim Elser and  Chad Johnson; and Norton and Ramsey Sustainability Scholarship benefactor Rev. Jenny Norton. The Philanthropists of the Year Award will be presented to Rob and Melani Walton in recognition of their dedication to creativity, innovation and engaged practice in creating a more sustainable world. They have demonstrated this through corporate leadership and philanthropy, such as their investment in ASU's Rob and Melani Walton Sustainability Solutions Initiatives. The seven programs of the Walton Initiatives are designed to develop scalable solutions to global economic, social and environmental challenges.